When Will Caribbean Inspired Songs Make a Comeback?

With “Work” doing so well on the charts, I wonder if another era of island/dancehall/reggae(ton) tunes is on the rise?

Even before “Work” came out, there have been hints of Caribbean influence seeping into music lately.

Ye’s “Yeezus” had a lot of Jamaican/reggae references and influence such as sampling Beenie Man in “Send It Up”, “I’m in It” with Assassin on it and Popcaan on “Guilt Trip”.

Drake’s “If You’re Reading This, It’s Too Late”had a few West Indian moments, that this Complex article breaks down, mentioning Popcaan’s ties to the project. The video for “Hotline Bling” was inspired by Sean Paul’s “I’m Still In Love With You” video  (Hotline Bling didn’t remind me of it but ok Drake). For some reason, I feel like island vibes will be on his long awaited project, “Views From the 6”.

Beyonce’s last album had a song with Mr. Vegas called “Standing on the Sun” which I really liked. On Summertime Shootout, the ending of Fabolous’ “Vanilla” features a random verse from Konshens.

I can’t lie and say I’m not hoping for this to happen. I loved the early ’00s filled with the Caribbean touch from Sean Paul, Pitbull, Nina Skye, Elephant Man,  Daddy Yankee, Kevn Lyttle, Beenie Man and many more.

Leave a Reply

