SOTD: Permission by Ro James

With a voice like honey, Ro James has a hit on his hands with Permission. I can’t get this song out of my head since I’ve heard it so I had to make it “song of the day”. I’ve been on the hunt for more mature, grown and sexy R&B and Permission fulfills what I’m looking for. What makes this song stands out is the beautiful vocals of Ro and how he croons on the track romantically for consent before lovemaking. The sampling of Willie Hutch’s classic “Brothers Gonna Work It Out” is used perfectly, giving off a retro-soul R&B feel.

giphy
The chorus will put you in a trance:

Come on give me that green light
You can lay your head down
Well only if it feels right
Oho, give me that green light
I need you, to give me that green light

If you want to know more about Ro James, check out his soundcloud and his interview with Billboard.

Leave a Reply

