M.I.A.: “Is Beyoncé or Kendrick Lamar Going to Say Muslim Lives Matter?”

“Or Syrian Lives Matter? Or this kid in Pakistan matters? That’s a more interesting question.”

I was just showing love to M.I.A. last week and she goes and does this to me.

M.I.A.
offered her take on the #BlackLivesMatter movement during a recent interview with London’s Evening Standard magazine.

When asked about Beyonce’s Super Bowl halftime show, which drew negative responses from police and conservatives for the use of Black Panther imagery, M.I.A. stated, “It’s interesting that in America the problem you’re allowed to talk about is Black Lives Matter. It’s not a new thing to me — it’s what Lauryn Hill was saying in the 1990s, or Public Enemy in the 1980s. Is Beyoncé or Kendrick Lamar going to say Muslim Lives Matter? Or Syrian Lives Matter? Or this kid in Pakistan matters? That’s a more interesting question.

I swear when black people try to stand up for THEMSELVES other POC (people of color) want to point out how they feel excluded. Why do black people have to march for EVERYONE? When other races/ethnicities focus on what is going on in their communities, no one uproars about how they aren’t focusing on other people. The beef people have with the Black Lives Matter movement is absurd to me. It was created for and by black people but it’s not saying “black lives are the ONLY ones that matter” but its focus is heavily on black people. People don’t go to a Walk for Breast Cancer event and complain about how there is no one walking for lupus or diabetes. The BLM cause focuses on black lives (there are black Muslims, too ya’know), yes, but it’s not discrediting OTHER lives.

She continued: “You can’t ask it on a song that’s on Apple, you cannot ask it on an American TV program, you cannot create that tag on Twitter, Michelle Obama is not going to hump you back.”

M.I.A. took to her Twitter account to clear up any misconceptions from the interview.

M.I.A. has always advocated on behalf of marginalized communities and recently addressed the European refugee crisis in her Borders video. M.I.A has focused on the refugee crisis in her own music and moved from Sri Lanka when she was a child during the island’s Civil War.

The musician also said she’s surprised that she’s still alive, considering her beginnings.

“I feel like I should have died a long time ago,” she said. “I’m surprised I’m still alive, to be honest. I came from war. When I was growing up I didn’t really think I’d live beyond about 25. I never thought I would be old enough to drive or have a house or raise a child. Having to do it is really difficult.”

MIA’s full interview appears in this week’s issue of ES Magazine, which is out today.

Leave a Reply

