Am I The Only One Not Looking For Frank Ocean?

I’m really starting to believe Frank Ocean will be the Lauryn Hill of our era and will give us one album and dip because he couldn’t get his energy to align with the time to follow up with another project.

The Internet has become obsessed with this man and he has clearly showed he has no fucks to give. He has dodged the limelight, only making a few appearances here and there in the public or on songs in four years since the release of Channel Orange.

980x

To say that Frank didn’t capture me with Nostalgia, Ultra would be a lie.

rachel-dolezal-facebook

I, too, became enchanted by the aura of Ocean. Tracks like We All Try, Swim Good, Nature Feels, Novacane, Lovecri…ok BASICALLY THE WHOLE DAMN MIXTAPE, touched me in a way that I never felt before. I can’t lie, I wanted more from Frank and when I discovered the Lonny Breaux Collection, I was in love. But like all men do, Frank soon showed me that he could not be trusted. I mean, I should have known this. He’s friends with Tyler the fucking Creator and a part of Odd Future so there WERE warning signs.

tumblr_n6qc6cm5xj1rd27fwo1_400

When Frank followed up with Channel Orange, I didn’t get that same spark like I did with Nostalgia, Ultra and the Lonny Breaux tapes. There were a few gems on there like the classic Thinkin Bout You, Pilot Jones, Pink Matter, Pyramids but I just wasn’t obsessed like everyone else. Since then, Frank Ocean’s face and voice has been looked for high and low on the streets of Tumblr, Twitter…hell, even Myspace.

So what’s the deal? Does Frank know what he’s doing and most importantly, if he ever DOES release his next musical piece, WILL IT BE WORTH THE WAIT? The hype surrounding this guy is crazy. I mean he’s a fantastic songwriter but them vocals ain’t alladat (excuse me, I’m a little hurt and bitter)! I’m not even sure if he really exists…maybe I made it up. Kinda like the Berenstain vs Berenstein argument. It’s been four years and people are still waiting for him to stop trolling. “No one man should have all that power”– Kanye West

frank-ocean-2015nope

In a recent interview, breakout star James Blake gave us some tea on Frank’s project and let us know he’s thinkin bout us:

According to The Colour in Anything artist James Blake, Ocean’s long-awaited album is an even greater opus than his previous work. In fact, Blake β€” who counts Ocean among his collaborators in his album credits β€” shared that The Colour in Anything was heavily inspired by Ocean’s new record.

“His music was a huge influence on the way I was writing the record, the way I was writing melodies,” Blake told Rolling Stone in an interview published Wednesday. “I was more of a fan of him when I heard his newer music,” he added. “It’s better. You grow, you improve, you nail a new message to the board. He’s had time to mature. It’s really cool to watch.”


With all these updates we manage to find on Frank, I’ve given up hounding him. There’s a project in the works and it sounds amazing according to sources. He’s an artist and we know how those types can be about their work. He can take all the time he needs to deliver us with a solid project BUT it better be worth it. The way Frank is handling all the anxiety from fans kinda turns me on. He’s a teaser and will only give in when he is ready. However, nothing’s worse than anticipating sex with someone and when it finally happens it’s a let down, am I right?! I’m holding Frank to the same standard. When he arrives with his music, I’ll see it as a one night stand. I’ll enjoy it and appreciate it but I won’t be expecting a phone call after the deed is done.

tumblr_m7h679s3lc1ra8zelo1_250

Leave a Reply

