Review ASAP Mob “Cozy Tapes, Vol. 1: Friends”

A$AP Mob’s Cozy Tapes, Vol. 1: Friends dropped featuring appearances from Wiz Khalifa, Tyler, The Creator, Skepta, Juicy J, Lil Yachty, Lil Uzi Vert, and MadeinTYO.

I’ve been waiting for this one for a while now so I was ready to hear what the boys been up to.

Yamborghini High: RIP Yams! Was I the only one entertained by the “cozy” argument skit?

jay3
me trying to get into Yamborghini High when it first came out

Once I saw the video, I came to my senses.

Crazy Brazy: This song is a mood. Don’t talk to me crazy or brazy. Love the schemes of the verses and the back and forth between Twelvy, Rocky and Key!.

612fba7127001a1ca9363b7e3949ecff-400x300x63
Way Hii
: Smooth as fuck. Feels like you’re floating especially with Buddy and BJ the Chicago Kid on the chorus. Then those trade off bars between Wiz and Rocky? They so high their raps just drifting into each other.

Young Nigga Livin: Production by DJ Smokey. Wow, Ferg made this track introspective as fuck. I was chillin and vibin to Twelvy and Ant and here comes Ferg with some cold shit to talk about. Did yall peep the Yoshi and Zelda samples?

“I can’t take this world
Ain’t got the patience
Years of oppression, I’m feeling violated
And that’s why my niggas be highly sedated
Addicted to money and driving the Ranges
Gone off the lean, want to stay faded
They can’t even drink because their life is so jaded
I want to be clean but the world is so tainted
Ain’t it?”
giphy
Nasty’s World:  The samples on this are crazy: Outkast “West Savannah”, Onyx “Throw Ya Gunz” and James Brown “It’s a Man’s World”. I love how NY this track sounds and feels.

Money Man: Rocky been making me proud so far. Money Man is just too damn cold. Everyone else held it down but Rocky just got a way of flowing on these type of beats.
5e8dfa05e52736aca7caecc40235b4c6-478x227x18

Put That On My Set: I ain’t mad at it. Rocky been in London for so long, I’m not surprised he got Skepta on a song. Just don’t know how I feel about the collab or maybe it’s because this is a weak song. I’m not sure but I do like da beat.

Motivation Foreign (Skit): LMFAO bruh. Niggas talk crazy when they got money.

London Town: Should have called this “Niggas in London”. I kinda hate the chorus but I’m glad Carti has small features on this tape.

Runner: Bound to get stuck in your head if you believe hard enough. Easy to remember, “I’ll turn your bitch into a runner”. Is she running from the dick, running away from me or moving his work? Lil Uzi Vert basically dominates this song until you hear ASAP Ant clock in.

Bachelor: Rocky Vandross vocals combined with Offset adlibs? Mad cozy. This is such a random collab with MadeinTYO and Yachty but somehow it works.

Telephone Calls: What we’ve all been waiting for

f7073dcf314451cce312063fb0178308-1000x1000x1
lmfao Rocky been too cozy for you niggas

Rocky kinda went in on this. “Killin’ niggas even though black lives matter” yikes. I love how arrogant Rocky is. His verse was nice but he had the nerve to call Tyler out saying “Tell Tyler, better step his flow up”. LMFAO. And did this man really use “tabernacle” in a song? Wow, amazing.
1124852_oRocky vs. Tyler shouldn’t even be a discussion. As much as I wanted this collab to happen, I wish it was for a better song (I’ll deal). I love how Tyler’s saying “yeah I don’t fuck with the mainstream shit” and kinda disses the mob crew lowkey.
“My Vans are Vans ’cause Tyler does not fuck with Giuseppe
Fuck the Gucci, fuck the Raf
And fuck the swag and all that other shit they wearin” 
I know niggas HAD to be in their feelings a lil after Tyler’s verse. Tyler the Businessman stunts on his verse naming all his ventures with his clothing line, brand and Camp Flog Gnaw with a Vice City flow. “Kunta ain’t got much shit on me. ‘Cause I’m a master, I hit my own back to be like, “Y’all boys, my nigga”. Guess Rocky got what he wanted.

Leave a Reply

